Sights

Port of Katakolo

Sights

Coastal town located 13.5 miles from the tower , is the seaport and is situated in the area of Ancient Pheias nestled on green hill . Katakolon is a narrow rocky promontory on the west coast of the Peloponnese , forming a cove deep enough . The shore and bottom are covered with fine sand .

The Tourist Port of Katakolon is a Marina with great growth potential , with potential to become one of the largest marinas in the country. Providing high quality services is a vital component of the Marina making it worthy competitor to the respective ports of Greece.

Church of Saint Nicolas

Monasteries - temples

Saint Nicholas  (15 March 270 – 6 December 343), also called Nikolaos of Myra, was a historic 4th-century Christian saint and 

Theater of Floka

Local monuments

The cultural scene of summer Greece acquired a new Theater with 3,700 seats like the ancient theater of Epidaurus, located in the sacred land of Olympia, theater of «Floka».

Temple of Apollo Epikourios

Archaeological Areas

The temple of Apollo Epikourios, one of the most important and most imposing temples of antiquity, stands in the bare and rocky landscape of Bassae. It is unique in the history of ancient Greek architecture because it combines a variety of novel ideas both in its external appearance and in its internal arrangements. Indeed, Pausanias considered it to be among the finest temples of the Peloponnese in terms of sheer beauty and harmony, second only to that of Tegea (8, 41, 8).

Monastery of Kremasti

Monasteries - temples

Literally hovering near, on l arge rocks, between villages Lanthi, Arvaniti and at a distance of 15 km from the Tower lies the monastery of the Panagia, with views to the mountain Erymanthos and Foloi. The roof and walls of the temple are the great rock with pit, only the north side is open. It wa built in the year of1601. In the era of the Ottoman Empire was a safe haven for many thieves and rebels, while the secret school of the monastery brought together the Greek children of the region.

Archaiological Museum of Pyrgos (Agora)

Museums

Attracts countless visitors from Greece and abroad . It is one of the largest projects in modern history of the Tower , the most prestigious in ILEIAKI capital . The recent conversion of the building into Archaeological Museum and similar interventions in the wider surroundings are leading traffic to Greek and foreign tourists . Guests can admire an amazing architectural structure , an impressive exhibition space is a real jewel.

Foclore Museum of Andritsena

Museums

The Folk Museum of Andritsaina was established by the Cultural Asociation of Women of Andritsaina in 1981. Some women from Andritsaina who wanted to show "the soul of their place" were driven by the hack value, the love for the place they live in, their anxiousness for saving heir cultural heritage and above all the team work joined their forces and established a Folk Museum at their home, Andritsaina.

Monastery of Skafidias

Monasteries - temples

The Monastery Skafidias is located just 10 miles from Pyrgos and beside the deep blue waters of the Ionian Sea, at the mouth of the river Iardanos. The visitor will stay away from eyeing the medieval fortress that surrounds it. The monastery of Panagia Skafidiotissas, from which it takes its name, was built in 10th century AD.

Foclore Museum of Amaliada

Museums

From the newest Greek cities and at a distance of about 18 km. from Pyrgos, Amaliada is officially recognized as a new town by Royal Decree of 18 November 1885, after the unification of towns Kalitsa and Derbis Tselepi. However, the name of which was given in honor of Queen Amalias, predates by Royal Decree of King Otto (1 July 1842) by request of municipality of Elissis for consolidation of villages Tselepi Kalitsa and Derbis.

Eparcheion Hill

Squares

At the point where today the city is built, archaeologists locate the ancient city Dyspontion, while a quarter of the city was the ancient city of LETRINA. The city got its name from the large tower built on the hill of Eparcheion the Greek founder of the modern city, Tsernotas (1512-1520). This tower was in that place until June 1825, when residents of the city after the Sunday, blinded by civil strife, the demolished. The hill of Eparcheion today adorns the central square of Pyrgos with a small forest picnic and relaxation area and playground ready to host children.

Pages

Discover Ilia